picky logo
Productscurationdiscussionpicky for creatorsJoin Picky Plus ➕

Routine Help

sheglowsandblooms user profile picture

sheglowsandblooms

Oily/Sensitive

dot208 Views

retinol advice for skincare newbie!!

As someone who is in her early 20s, premature skin aging is quite my concern already, and I've assessed that I need to consider it in my regime. So far, I am noticing fine lines under my eyes are being formed, and enlarged pores (I suspect that it is an effect of long term exposure to pollution.) Retinol has quite piqued my interest, yet, I really just want to be educated about it considering I am just a skincare newbie. I want to know what are the Dos and Don'ts I should consider, the type of Retinol better used for a certain skin condition, or any advice when starting retinol, and the expected effects for it's long term use. Thank you! :)
upvote

comment

8 Comments

Kael user profile picture

Kael

Oily/Resilient

First, consider the strength, start with something low. Do not always jump to a higher percentage as it is sensitizing to the skin. Choose products with a low content of retinol and start with alternating days first until your face can tolerate the potency of retinol. Use it either the last step of your routine at night, or you can do also the sandwich method: moisturizer, retinol, moisturizer. • Use occlusive moisturizer as it impedes the strength of retinol which means less irritation. Always wear sunscreen, regardless of incorporating retinol or not, always wear sunscreen because it is the best protection you got against aging skin.
upvote

comment

sheglowsandblooms user profile picture

sheglowsandblooms

Oily/Sensitive

Thank you! Would like to ask if you have any idea does the irritation or "purging" phase last? Because my skin isn't really resilient when it comes to healing from a purge/breakout, like I easily get really stubborn PIH and PIE, even in the most smallest pimple.
upvote

comment

dskinn user profile picture

dskinn