picky logo
Productscurationdiscussionpicky for creatorsJoin Picky Plus ➕

Skin Concern

heyitskimi user profile picture

heyitskimi

Oily/Resilient

dot50 Views

Retinols

A little history first. Growing up I didn't really had much pimples. I do have blackheads/whiteheads and my pores are not that flawless but I did not really had a lot of pimples. So I don't really have a skincare routine and only used cheap products. I don't break out as well even if I use old make up. Until the pandemic happened, I had this little white bumps in my forehead. I did not mind at first cos I was not going out. But it started bugging me so I thought its time to level up my skin care. It is my first time to buy a product that's more than ₱500 which is roughly $10. That's expensive for me already. l bought The Ordinary 0.2% in squalene around May this year. I used it 2x a week at first. Then I started having red pimples and now its bigger. A lot showed up in the sides of my face, in my temples. They said it was purging so I endured to the point that it was really bad so I stopped after using it for a month. Its now August, i kept my skincare simple. Just using CosRx Salicylic Cleanser, The Ordinary Niacinamide, and Cetaphil moisturizer day and night. I've been taking Lactezin twice a day as well and it helped a lot. I still have acne every now and then but its just growing one at a time. Now I want to go back to my old routine using retinols and all these fancy stuffs and I will also take Zinc supplement on top of the Lactezin cos I want to get rid of the acne marks I still have.
upvote

comment

2 Comments

heyitskimi user profile picture

heyitskimi

Oily/Resilient

What are your experiences with retinols? Do you think I should try it again? Any recommendations to remove acne marks?
upvote

comment

shiejj user profile picture

shiejj

Oily/Resilient

ingredients to look out for in lightening acne marks: - niacinamide - vit c - arbutin -tranexamic acid - kojic acid don’t overuse them!