picky logo
Productscurationdiscussionpicky for creatorsJoin Picky Plus βž•

Routine Help

PinkRust user profile picture

PinkRust

Oily/Resilient

dot142 Views

Moisturizer as buffer for AHA?

Hi Pickies! πŸ–€ I've been wondering if I could use a lightweight, gel type, moisturizer BEFORE a potent, leave-on AHA/BHA. I know you can do it with retinoids to reduce potential irritation and the latter will still be effective. I'm not sure if the acids will keep their effectiveness though. What are you thoughts? Did you try buffering a leave-on acid product? If so, was the acid still working as it should? Thank you in advance for any insight in the matter πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ P.S. I would put a more occlusive moisturizer on top of everything to seal them in.
upvote

comment

14 Comments

JelenaaJekkii user profile picture

JelenaaJekkii

Oily/Sensitive

Ok, I'm not a professional so this is just my opinion from a few things I've read. I could potentially be way wrong lol Ahas work best closest to skin, some people recommend chemical exfoliants before toner while others after. If you're putting something thicker than your chemical exfoliant before it might not penetrate the skin. This is where I would follow thinnest to thickest product order. If this product is too much for you maybe try a lower percentage? Not sure how helpful that was πŸ˜‚πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•
upvote

comment

PinkRust

Oily/Resilient

That's very helpful, thank you! πŸ’œ
upvote

comment

jojobeauty16 user profile picture

jojobeauty16

Oily/Resilient