picky logo
Productscurationdiscussionpicky for creatorsJoin Picky Plus ➕

Ingredients

A

Aishu875

Oily/Sensitive

dot75 Views

Essential oils in skincare ✅❎

Hi all, I'm new to skincare, I am exploring new products to repair and improve my skin. I often saw in YouTube that essential oils are sensitizing to our skin, and we may face consequences after long term usage. What's your take on it? Do you use it or avoid it?
upvote

comment

7 Comments

chrysant user profile picture

chrysant

Oily/Resilient

never incorporated pure essential oil into my routine, but I found some of the opened skincare products of mine contain eo. I think it's still fine to my acneic skin. essential oil (EO) comes from natural ingredients, even they're naturally derived from plants, doesn't mean they're risk-free, since it's highly concentrated. ex: tamanu is claimed to have anti-inflammatory benefits, but for some people that allergic to nuts, it'll irritate their skin. lemon & citrus fruit can cause sunburns when it exposures to sunlight. so remember to conduct a patch test before using it to reduce the risk of allergic reaction. some people might be able to use it, while others might not. the only way to find it out is to try it by ourselves. or maybe we can discuss any potential negative reactions to a dermatologist before adding it to our routine.
upvote

comment

A

Aishu875

Oily/Sensitive

This was informative, thank you! I have used tea tree oil in the past, it did nothing for my skin.
upvote

comment

theskinilivein user profile picture
picky squad user badge

theskinilivein

Oily/Sensitive

I avoid fragrances and essential oils in leave-on products when possible but I don't mind them in wash-off products like cleansers.
upvote

comment

A

Aishu875

Oily/Sensitive

Me too, I have used tea tree oil in the past, it didn't help my skin and I do not want to use any ingredient which is potentially damaging for my skin.
upvote

comment

ishiskin user profile picture

ishiskin