picky logo
Productscurationdiscussionpicky for creatorsJoin Picky Plus ➕

Routine Help

Sheydawm user profile picture

Sheydawm

Dry/Resilient

dot624 Views

Retinol burn 😩 what can I do?

Retinol was never really something that I was interested in. I know a few people that deal with hormonal acne that told me it helped them alot. Also a friend of mine had a skin condition which is like an auto immune desease (not sure of the name). He also told me it helped him. Then recently I heard it’s helping alot against fine lines. I was starting with 0,3 to 0,5 over like 2 months. I saw the lines dissapeared. After 4 weeks I saw a little improvement so I wanted to Dose up to 1% and well then i dealt with the worse retinol burn ever. Since I’m new to this. Is it ok to use retinol with a dry skin? Dry skin + retinol a no go? Did you guys experience retinol burn already? Should I Dose down or hang in there until my skin gets used of it? Thank You guys so much ❤️
upvote

comment

64 Comments

theskinilivein user profile picture
picky squad user badge

theskinilivein

Oily/Sensitive

I think your skin did not have time to adjust to that retinol percentage. I would go back to the lower concentration that your skin was able to tolerate and keep using it for like 3 months. If you keep seeing progress with that concentration I would not go higher.
upvote

comment

matchaa4 user profile picture

matchaa4

Oily/Resilient

so true
upvote

comment

Ozu user profile picture

Ozu

Oily/Sensitive

Do increase your concentration slowly. What can be done, recommended by dermatalogist is basically to do this sandwich layering method with a hydrating moisturizer, moisturizer-retinol-moisturizer. You apply a layer of moisturizer before and after retinol.
upvote

comment

M

mmary

Oily/Sensitive