picky logo
Productscurationdiscussionpicky for creatorsJoin Picky Plus ➕

Ingredients

happyglowyskinlife user profile picture

happyglowyskinlife

Oily/Sensitive

dot71 Views

Benzoyl Peroxide Wash and Purging

Hello everyone! I started a Benzoyl Peroxide Wash last week. I thought it would be a great way to deal with adult acne. A little about my skin: - Oily - Acne prone - Sensitive The first day everything was good in the hood. The same goes for the second day. The third day came with breakouts around my mouth and chin. All areas that I usually have pimples. The breakouts are small and look like they have sebum. The same happened to my forehead. I'm not familiar with Benzoyl Peroxide. It's my first time trying skincare with this ingredient. I knew the active was the gold standard to fight acne, and it was precisely what I was looking for. However, the breakouts were unexpected. I felt uneasy and researched about the ingredient. Apparently, it's possible that I might be purging. I would like to know if anyone had a similar experience with products containing Benzoyl Peroxide.
Wash 5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Benzac AC
Wash 5% Benzoyl Peroxide

star rating

(8)

favorite

upvote

comment

5 Comments

Beautywithhunnie user profile picture

Beautywithhunnie

Oily/Resilient

I had similar experience before, then I realized I needed to stop using other actives and serums (espeically retinol)... 'cause the combination caused irritation
upvote

comment

happyglowyskinlife

Oily/Sensitive

Thank you so much for the feedback ❤️ I've been on tretinoin for more than 3 months. I only apply tretinoin 2 times per week. My breakouts were ocasional. Now it's a different deal when I introduced Benzoyl Peroxide 😥 I'll probably should go slow and only wash 1 to 2 times per week.
upvote

comment

adaezedoesskincare user profile picture

adaezedoesskincare

Oily/Sensitive